The Biggest Lesson Of My Life

I was just returning from college & I saw a person – a really poor person handicapped from waist down, was on board driven by wheels. He was dragging himself along the road amidst the burning sun & pollution. Seeing that awful sight I asked to myself – Why does he even want to live? There’s nothing but misery & pain. No family – no one to even help him cross that road. What does he get from working that hard just to live each day?

The question taunted me. But I finally found the answer in a fictional story. There is this TV show, The Vampire Diaries. Now before I explain you the scene, I’ll have to tell you something about vampires – they are immortals & have perks like they can hear your heartbeat from a distance. Now, there is a character named Klauss – he is the most powerful creature in the world who can’t be killed by things that can kill any other vampire. Now, he is asked “Didn’t you ever thought to be a human?” To which he answered –

Once, I was on a trek in the Andes, and a hummingbird flew up to me, and just hovered there staring at me. It’s tiny heart was pattering like a machine gun … And I thought, what a thing, you know, to have to work that hard every day, just to stay alive, to be constantly on the verge of the death, and how satisfying every day must be that it survived. And that was the only time when I thought about being human.

Though it is a fantasy world, but it taught me how great it is to be a human. We all have at some point taught it fun to be immortal or have qualities like that of the superheroes. But we forgot the real gift of being human. Now I realized why that beggar wants to live!

Check out other related posts :Living@Earth!

Author: Abhishek Agarwal

I love to look at the world & find out the best thing about everything that exist in it. I love analyse, express & debate. Bill Gates - Idol; Tech-maniac: Android fan; Fast Bowling - Dale Steyn Fan; Photographer; Blogger

2 thoughts on “The Biggest Lesson Of My Life”

Leave a Reply

