My-self : The Epicenter to my Curiosity and Empathy

I seldom see you. But I often talk to you in my thoughts.

Your spirit stimulates just enough patience in me to not be angry, to not imprison that person within my fears, to not recede the all-encompassing space to a bubble. The bubble stretches to the limits of my curiosity and empathy, and you inspire me to stretch it out. To accommodate you and parts of me I left out.

Every interaction with you interacts with a part of me and the whole of me. But I seldom see you. I always look forward to meeting you. The future serving a hope, morphing into a bed of comfort to let myself talk to you in my thoughts.

“All I ask” was the pre-text to re-calibrating every desire. When the desires interacted with you, you said “No Expectations”. Soon, “No Expectations” decayed every seed of desire. My expectations must never weigh you down, imprison you into the focus of my narrowed consciousness.


Perceive. Let my consciousness expand infinitely within the infinitesimal small time of us. Create enough space to accommodate all of you in the bubble. My world.

My story is your story. Your story is mine. I need you take care of my story. Trust me to take care of yours.

Surrender. Let the story have it’s own life, have it’s purpose and meaning, as we embraced into the beauty of the us-ness of us.

But when I finally met you, shared these thoughts with you, my truth blinded you…


You are beautiful, I said. My words ricochet within you in disbelief.

And ignites my curiosity to ask: “Why are you beautiful? Why did we evolve to find the things that we find to be beautiful?” Will we want to explore the universe if it wasn’t so obviously beautiful? To only realize, what I think I’ve always known.

Wonder. Beauty takes shape in the focal point of our curiosity.

You are a focal point to my curiosity and my empathy.

The universe moves us. When you move me, I choose to act. About some of it you know, a lot of it you don’t. None of it anyone can ever grasp. What if you never know, what if we never interact, what if your presence is never there. Can you still move me to act, and would I still choose to act?


Life reveals itself in our actions. The purpose of life is to experience life. Life is a single-player game but is it inherently alone?

If not…

Is it you that makes life worth living? It’s a dangerous thought that can tether two lives with a fickle thread. It’s a pull that throws me off course. The pull bends the poignant resonance. I cannot flow in the power that flows from the epicentre. An interference in perfection.

“No expectations”, you said.


Empathize. I find you, within me. And you move me. And I choose to act. And my curiosity converges, my empathy encompasses more space. As you move me, you leave your footprints. Imprinting a path, to the epicentre of me.

You move me to act. And I do. I always do. I find your truth within me. I talk to you, in my thoughts. I must dive within myself, and carry on with the task. But the tether of expectations throws me off balance in my dive inwards.

A tangible weight seems to weigh me down. My heart takes over the bottomless time. And pumps my faculties into accommodating you. And I hold you in an embrace, hoping you know, hoping our contact may stop the implosion within me.


Let you go. The thread must be cut, and I must stumble into reality. And, perhaps, in this new reality… I will always find you within me.

You for me, I for you. I for I, you for you.

Explode the space to encompass all of us. …All because of a selfless, throbbing and expansive love.

I & Love & You.

Perhaps, there was something self-less about it after all.


Check out more of my writings on Twitter.

Author: Abhishek Agarwal

"My most clear memories are those of the moments which seemed to cause a cognitive development in me."

Leave a comment